Wednesday, 8 March 2017


After three years that the last Igbogbo day was held, His Royal Majesty, Oba Semiudeen Kasali Orimadegun has inaugurated a new planning committee to organise the first Igbogbo day since he ascended the throne of his forefathers.

The secretary of Igbogbo Development Association, Mr.  Yaya Ogunsowo did not hesitate to explain why Igbogbo day could not hold since 2014, he attributed the fact to the demised of Oba Fatola and the processing of installing the new King. He further emphasized that Igbogbo development Association is ready to stage a memorable Igbogbo day this year. 

The president of IDEA, Mr. Kola Ogunkoya in his speech revealed how difficult it was to hold the association firmly. He reiterated that several attempts were made to scuttle the association but it took the wisdom of God to keep the ball rolling. He expressed his heart felt appreciation due to the Adeboruwa Chiefs' efforts made and for their support so far.

However, Chief Jelili Oduntan, the Balogun of Igbogbo Kingdom thanked the IDEA for their relentless efforts in projecting Igbogbo Community positively, he therefore encouraged the planning committee to devote more time towards the success staging of this year's Igbogbo day. 

In furtherance to Chief Balogun's advise, High Chief Tajudeen Onasanya, the Odofin of Igbogbo, appreciates the president of IDEA, Mr. Kola Ogunkoya for his resilience towards the progress of Igbogbo community. He saluted the reign of Oba Fatola and thanked Oba Kasali for the exposure given to the Chiefs and the entire community since he ascended the throne.

Chief Odofin also implored the prominent people in Igbogbo to give back out of their wealth to the community through infrastructural development, he therefore advised members of IDEA to work closely with the planning committee in order to achieve good result. Odofin also sought that subsequent vacant posts in the Palace should be filled by Igbogbo elites;  this will only promote our culture and the good name of Igbogbo community.

Appointment letters were given to the 24 members planning committee of Igbogbo Day 2017. The names include:
1. Engr Obafemi Kalejaiye   Chairman
2. Hon. Gbenga Oshin.  Vice Chairman
3. Mr Faniyi Shonubi.   Secretary
4. Pastor (Mrs) Aseyege,    Member
5. Mr Adeleke Amokunmosa, Member
6. Mr. Taiwo Adeniji Member
7. Chief Aliu Adelakun.  Member
8. Engr Yomi Agoro. Member
9. Alhaji Chief Olubodun Ganiu. Member
10. Mr Olumide Idowu. Member
11. Mr. Monsor Kolejo. Member
12. Mrs Rebecca Bolowotan. Member
13. Alhaja Adenike Sanusi. Member
14. Mr Suraju Kajola. Member
15. Mr Ahmed Solanke.   Member
16. Prince Adeniyi Ogunlewe.  Member
17. Mr Taiwo Okeowo.  Member
18. Mr Leke Shoberu.  Member
19. Mr Saheed Adetilola.  Member
20. Mr Omolade Oduniyi.  Member
21. Mr Azeez Shittabey.  Member
22. Mrs.  O. Anibaba.    Member
23. Mr Kazeem Ogunmuyiwa.   Member
24. Mr Morufu Adewale.     Member

HRM Oba Semiudeen Orimadegun Kasali thanked the IDEA and Chiesf for the kind of love they showcased to the community, he promised not to relent in supporting the Association but also implored them to hold themselves tight and imbibe the spirit of forgiveness and oneness.

Engr.  Kalejaiye thanked Kabiyesi for the privilege given him to serve and despite the complexity of the task, he promised to deliver to the glory of Igbogbo community.

The Publisher, Igbogbo/Bayeku Info Magazine
The genuine VOICE of Ikorodu Division

No comments:

Post a Comment